NSW SOL for 2014 – 2015

Skilled nominated migration

NSW Migration Strategy – supporting the NSW economy

NSW is pleased to announce that applications for the 2014/15 Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) program will open on 14 July 2014.

The Program in 2014-15

NSW has introduced a number of initiatives in 2014-15 which are designed to align the NSW Skilled Nominated visa program with the skills requirements of the NSW economy. Key points about the program in 2014-15 are:

  • Applications will be lodged electronically through a new online system
  • Applications will be open for four intakes per year with a maximum of 1000 applications per intake
  • Application intakes will remain open for 4-6 weeks, and
  • The NSW SOL will be expanded and will include all occupations on the 2013-14 NSW Skilled Occupation List as all occupations on the SOL published by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) and in effect 1 July 2014.

NSW runs the Skilled Nominated program in order to attract highly skilled people in a range of occupations to contribute to NSW future skills needs. As the program is rolled out over 2014-15, NSW will closely monitor the program and will adjust eligibility criteria, including occupational eligibility, as required.

Nomination pathway expanded for South Australia

Nomination pathway expanded for South Australia


Immigration South Australia introduced a new nomination pathway, chain migration*, which allows applicants with an immediate family memberpermanently residing in South Australia to apply for a state nominated visa.

Chain migration enables applicants to access occupations on the South Australian Graduate List and occupations listed as special conditions apply.


To qualify for the chain migration pathway, applicants must:

• Have completed a Bachelor degree or higher
• Meet all DIBP criteria and Immigration South Australia criteria
• Have 60 points on the DIBP points test.

To qualify for the chain migration pathway, the family member in South Australia must:

• Be the applicant’s grandfather, grandmother, father, mother, brother or sister. Applicants can still apply if it’s a step or adoptive parent/sibling.
• Be an Australian Permanent Resident or an Australian Citizen
• Have resided in South Australia for the past twelve months.

For full details of the chain migration criteria, view the eligibility requirementssection on our website.
*Quotas apply. Once reached, no further applications for chain migration will be accepted for the 2014/15 program year.




ACS Recognition Application

The following changes will come into effect on 1 July, 2014.

The ACS Recognition Application is now incorporated within the four current ACS skills assessment application types:

Temporary Graduate 485
Post Australian study Skills Assessment
General skills assessment
Recognition of prior learning
The ACS Recognition Application is a redundant assessment type as of 1 July, 2014 and no longer valid for migration purposes.

In recent years the ACS has conducted fewer than 50 ACS Recognition Application assessments annually. Further information about ACS Migration Skills Assessments is available at Migration Skills Assessments


Validity of TRA skills assessments

Validity of TRA skills assessments

From 1 July 2014 skills assessments issued by TRA or a TRA approved RTO and lodged in support of certain types of skilled visa applications must be no older than three years from the date of issue.
Skills assessments issued by TRA or a TRA approved RTO in support of visa applications lodged with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection prior to 1 July 2014 will not be affected.
This change follows the amendment of the Migration Regulations effective from 1 July 2014. The purpose of the amendment is to ensure that a skills assessment meets the current occupational requirements for the nominated occupation in Australia.